Nina Young

Assistant Professor, Arts

Dr. Nina C. Young is a composer and recipient of the 2015-16 Frederick A. Juilliard / Walter Damrosch Rome Prize in Musical Composition from the American Academy in Rome, a Koussevitzky Commission from the Library of Congress, a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Jacob Druckman Prize, and the Salvatore Martirano Memorial Award.  Her music has also been recognized through commissions and awards from institutions such as the American Composers Forum, Broadcast Music Inc (BMI), the Jerome Foundation, the International Alliance of Women in Music (IAWM), and the Society of Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS).Young’s works have been presented by leading cultural institutions such as Carnegie Hall, the National Gallery, the Whitney, LA Phil’s Next on Grand, and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra’s Liquid Music Series. 

Young completed her undergraduate studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in ocean engineering and music, in addition to holding a research assistantship at the MIT Media Lab. In 2011, she earned a Master’s degree in music composition from McGill University.  Youngreceived her DMA from Columbia University in 2016, where she was an active participant at the Columbia Computer Music Center. 


DMA, 2016, Columbia University, New York NY

MA, Music Composition, McGill University, Montreal, Canada

BS, Ocean Engineering and Music, MIT, Cambridge MA